Brainstorming Promotional Images

Let's talk patterns!

Potential book cover idea.

Ok! Finally updated. Here’s what I’ve been working on recently–new ideas for promotional postcards to send to potential clients, art directors, etc. This assignment was much tougher than I thought it was going to be! Coming up with ideas completely out of the blue requires a lot of thought and patience, and hopefully no stress :]

Well, here’s a couple of ideas for the series: “Talking Patterns” and a possible idea for a book cover. I really enjoyed drawing the ‘Patterns’ sketch. It actually looks pretty much like me, and the flat, static pattern on the coat is a new thing for me to work with. Still some tweaking needed–expression is off, perhaps it could use a hand gesture, or maybe she could actually be saying something within the pattern speech. The next sketch was a bit more spur of the moment. It has a loose quality I really enjoy and one that I’m trying to emulate in all my work. Hands still need work. Transferring this to ink will be challenging! I’m starting this one right now, so more updates on its progress soon.

About detectivestone

I'm an illustrator from Massachusetts, trained at the Massachusetts College of Art and Design.
This entry was posted in process work, sketches. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

