Trying out printmaking

I’m taking an Introduction to Printmaking class, and I’m really enjoying it! I love all the new techniques I’m learning, and the whole process really goes with my style of drawing. I’m creating some pretty cool etchings at the moment. Above are are couple of my beginning states–I need to go back into the plate and deepen some of my marks to make the print darker in areas. Later, I’m going going to aquatint the plate.

The etching was created using a copper plate with hard ground asphaltum covering the plate. The asphaltum gets etched away, and then the whole plate gets dunked in an acid bath for a while, which allows all of the exposed copper to be eaten away by the acid, revealing the etching underneath.

Printmaking itself is an intense process just to create one image, but it’s satisfying to know how hard you worked on a piece to get the incredible print at the end! I think I’d like to keep doing printmaking on the side after school has ended.

About detectivestone

I'm an illustrator from Massachusetts, trained at the Massachusetts College of Art and Design.
This entry was posted in printmaking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

