new and revised sketches

New sketch for portfolio. I’ve been trying to focus on more portraiture as a way to depart from my frequent animal sketching. I decided to create a portrait of Hosni Mubarak, the ex-President of Egypt. As I’m sure everyone knows, his 30-year, iron fisted presidency crumbled after an 18 day riot by fed-up Egyptian citizens. What led to his fall is clearly due to his corruption. I wanted him to appear deceitful, and I always find that portraying someone with multiple faces makes their insincerity and deceitfulness apparent. Think of when someone is considered “two-faced.” Also, I wanted to make his faces appear like they were melding into each other, kind of giving an unnatural spin to his personality.

I revised the portrait of Gabrielle Giffords. My teacher recommended that I focus more on her head wound, and demonstrate how she was hurt, but is still overcoming her current situation.

About detectivestone

I'm an illustrator from Massachusetts, trained at the Massachusetts College of Art and Design.
This entry was posted in process work, sketches. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to new and revised sketches

  1. Reinaldo says:

    Hey, I love these sketches of yours especially Hosni Mubarak. Can’t wait to see the final. I was going to work on something about the current Egyptian crisis but you beat me to it. I guess I have to go back to the drawing board.
    Damn, you are good.
    Can’t wait to see your beautiful work.
    I have to ask you to leave me a print of your work and sign it for me!

    • Hey! Thanks for the nice comments! Actually, it’s back to the drawing board for me on the Hosni Mubarak sketch–Scott didn’t quite think that my concept was strong enough, so I have to revise my sketch. I have some neat ideas though, and I can’t wait to show them to you.

      Oh, also, you should totally do a piece on the situation in Egypt. Just because I’m working on an idea for it, doesn’t mean you can’t make one as well! The more sides and insights on the matter, the better.

      I’ll definitely give you a print of my work, but I want a print of your work, too! :]

Leave a Reply

