ink, pens, and brushes

Picked up my pens and ink for the first time in a while. It’s definitely more difficult to draw from life with pen and ink because there is little room for error. Also used my Pentel color brush pen for the bottom pages (thank you to my good friend Indigo for introducing me to this awesome pen!). I like using a combination of both the brush pen and the pen nibs in my artwork because it gives me a wide spectrum of marks–one is harder to use and control, but the marks are more natural, while the other is easier to use and the marks are cleaner and more controlled.

In the next couple of days I’m going to take some of my pen and ink sketches and put them into photoshop. I haven’t made anything with color since school ended, and I’d like to make new brushes.

About detectivestone

I'm an illustrator from Massachusetts, trained at the Massachusetts College of Art and Design.
This entry was posted in sketchbook. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

