NYC and the Society of Illustrators

I just got back from an awesome 4-day trip to New York City to attend the opening reception of the Society of Illustrators Student Scholarship Competition and visit my aunt, uncle, and cousin.

The place was packed–with people and tons of great art all over the walls. Every piece was amazing, and I’m honored to be a part of it all. Congratulations to my MassArt buddies who got pieces into the show, too–Amanda Lo and Rob Martin.

Image

Seeing all of those incredible pieces was overwhelming, and having a piece of mine hanging on the wall with them was surreal.

Image

My uncle, designer Tim Button, attended the event, too. (My family tends to have a lot of nouns for last names.)

Image

And my cousin and aunt, Kyra and Nia Button, came, too! It was an awesome night! Thanks to my boyfriend, Andrew, for taking all these pictures!

Sometimes I feel that I’m at a deficit, not living in New York City. The city is obviously a place where things are happening in the art landscape — it’s like every inspiration and so many artists are gathered so densely in one place. I think it will be super important for me to network, and to visit often and get to know the art community there.

I decided to try to go to the city about once a month (or as often as I can) and make dates with people to talk to them about career stuff. My uncle has offered me a bedroom while I’m there, and it would also give me an opportunity to go to museums. This time, Andrew and I went to the Cindy Sherman exhibit at MOMA. It was spectacular. I wish I could have taken pictures, but they had photo police everywhere.

We visited the World Trade Center Memorial. What a moving monument, with the empty space that represents the footprint of one of the towers. I felt very sad and reflective, but was surprised to see lots of visitors laughing and taking group photos–this baffled me. I understand the children who might be too  young to understand the import of the event, but some of the adults–I found that bewildering.

About detectivestone

I'm an illustrator from Massachusetts, trained at the Massachusetts College of Art and Design.
This entry was posted in competitions, events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

